Schrödinger’s Cat in a Virtual ‘Box’

Yes, apparently Schrödinger’s cat is alive, as the latest release of Fedora — Fedora 19, codename Schrödinger’s cat– as been released on July 2nd, and that even happened quite on time.

Fedora Logo

Fedora Logo

So, apparently, putting the cat “in a box” and all the stuff was way too easy, and that’s why we are bringing the challenge to the next level: do you dare putting Schrödinger’s cat “in a virtual box”?

In other words, do you dare install Fedora 19 within a Xen virtual machine? And if yes, how about doing that using Fedora 19 itself as Dom0?

Well, as a matter of fact, you should, since it is all pretty easy and straightforward. In fact, both me and my fellow Xen (and, in his case, Linux too) developer, Konrad from Oracle, did some tests on that, right before the release. It turned out that Xen is in a pretty good shape inside Fedora, and all the issues we found have been fixed in a matter of hours by the package maintainer M. A. Young.

For more details on how to install and get on with Xen on Fedora, have a look at this Wiki page: Fedora Host Installation.

The issues I’m referring to are these two:

As they are both fixed already, all you have to make sure is you, right after installing Fedora and going through all the steps described in the wiki, do the following:

# yum update --enablerepo=updates-testing xen-4.2.2-10.fc19

That’s it. Having done that, here it is what I was able to do which, allow me to say, is pretty cool!

XenFu

XenFu Panda

So yes, “the cat” is alive and kicking purring, both as a Xen host (with Xen 4.2 being what it ships by default) and as a Xen guest.

About dariofaggioli

Interested in CS, programming and Open Source since like forever, I'm now a very happy Virtualization developer @ SUSE. Much more important, I am a dreamer, a madly in love husband and an enthusiastic & incredibly proud father.
This entry was posted in Fedora, Linux, Technology, Work, Xen and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Schrödinger’s Cat in a Virtual ‘Box’

  1. Luis Nabais says:

    If I may ask you, what do you use on your Desktops, Laptops and Workstations? Fedora? Thanks

    • Yes, I use Fedora on my Laptop and on the Workstation I use for doing development. I then test the code I write on a combination of Debian an Fedora test boxes…

      • Luis Nabais says:

        Thank you for your answer 🙂

        Comparing Fedora to other Linux Distros you use/test, do you notice any difference in updated versions of Xen, or other development stuff?
        Or any difficulties in corporate stuff, like connecting VPNs, etc, using the same comparison?

        Thanks

        • Well, I can only talk about Fedora, Debian and Ubuntu. I’ve never used other distro seriously or for long enough to judge. Probably (at least) SuSE and Arch should be considered too, but again, I’ve never used them, so I can’t really tell.

          Among the three I said I use, Fedora has by far the most updated software. Ubuntu is close, but most of the time Fedora is ‘more current’. Debian is really nice and stable, even if you go for Sid (also called unstable). The problem arises if you want a bleeding edge desktop manager… The only chance you have is to enable the experimental repository, but at that point, things start breaking (at least they always did for me).

          Development stuff (like, e.g., gcc), Xen, the kernel… these are all fields where I’ve seen Fedora having the most updated packages than any other distro. That being said, although I really think that, especially in Open Source, the more updated you stay, the better, it is very hard to say if that makes it easier to use VPNs and connect to corporate services… I definitely have all I need in Fedora, but, I have to say, it is not that I was missing anything in Debian Unstable, with that respect.

          Sorry I can’t be more specific, but I really think the only possible answer to such a question is “it depends” 😦

          Regards, Dario

          • Luis Nabais says:

            Thanks for your answer 🙂 I’ve used Fedora for a few years in the past (I’m a RHCE), but recently just used Ubuntu and Arch on desktops/workstations/laptops. On servers I’ve been using mainly the distros usually seen in the corporate world, like Red Hat/CentOS, Ubuntu, Debian. As I’ve been a little far away from Fedora in the last years, that’s why I asked you that. Thanks

Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.